Hi guys. As my path meanders on I find that this blog isn’t where I’m at anymore. Or rather, it covers only a small portion of where I am at. I started it four years ago after all, when my son was still a baby. This week he turned 7! Much has changed.

For one thing and perhaps most importantly, I have answered my burning question, the reason I started this blog in the first place: ‘What are the gods?’

And the answer? Well, there have been a few that have quenched my thirst over the years. A few will do. But, mostly through my studies I have been convinced that they do exist in some form, or maybe as a combination of forms throughout the ages. What they are now, we can never know – not until we take that final boat ride over the river Styx. But it’s no longer important to me what they are, just that They Are.

As you may have seen in previous posts, I have moved over to a new blog, www.spiritMAMAblog.com but was writing at both places. I’m not going to do this anymore. I want to concentrate all of my efforts on the one. Also, I have changed the mission of SpiritMAMA up a bit, to include my more personal praxis, magic experiments and pathway posts – so I can in a sense, bring all pieces of me into one place.

So – please do come and find me there if you are so inclined. The new blog, although broader, covers a lot of the same topics and in fact I think I’ll be moving a lot of my favourite posts from BWTG over there.

Here’s a bit from my About page at SpiritMAMA:

Blogging is like a little oasis in the enchanted forest for me. But I also I’m writing this blog as an offering, to you, to the gods and the land and to the Good World.

Now you may be thinking hey, did she say ‘gods’?

Yup I did. If you are going to read my blog you should expect a fair amount of WOO.

Some ‘this world’ stuff about me: I’m a student of shamanism, initiated into the lineages of the Q’ero of the high Andes mountains and of the White Bone, a reconstructed celtic path. I’m a certified yoga teacher with a personal practice of 15 years or so. I am an animist. I foster a connection with all that is unseen. My ancestors guide me.

10 years ago I became aware of the state of our environment, and how the responsibility for that rests squarely on our human shoulders. I began seeking ways to disengage from our culture of consumption, profit and exploitation of the natural world. I continue to strive to be in the world but not of the world.

A few years ago, after the birth of my son Fox, I went through that early harrowing period of new mama-hood when my baby didn’t sleep for 3 years. We woke up every 45 minutes, 24 7, no joke. Sleep deprivation turned into postpartum anxiety that morphed into OCD. I was counting counting counting things. I was sure my baby was going to be decapitated at every next corner. I had a hard time leaving the house. I had a hard time with anger. I had a hard time with everything.

Then at year 3, when we had finally started sleeping through the night regularly, my health bottomed out. I was diagnosed with Graves’ Disease, an autoimmune malfunction.

Somewhere in there, in the insanity that was 2012 mania and my inner landscape, I built a small altar space on the top of my piano and began praying. Hard. I had not spoken to any spirits or god(s) for years and years – a lifetime really. This is when things began to change for me.

My health crisis reminds me of the story of Humpty Dumpty. I have always said, having a baby shattered me into a thousand tiny sparkling pieces. Shamanism is putting me back together again.

And, I’m different.

I hope to see you over there! And thanks so much for following me all of these years. I can’t tell you enough how much this blog and knowing you all are out there, has helped me, inspired me and kept me on my path.

Namaste (the light in me bows to the light in you)

www.spiritMAMAblog.com

Sky Bray | Breakfast With the Gods

