Northern Tradition for the Solitary Practitioner: A Book of Prayer, Devotional Practice, and the Nine Worlds of SpiritNorthern Tradition for the Solitary Practitioner: A Book of Prayer, Devotional Practice, and the Nine Worlds of Spirit by Galina Krasskova

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book was not exactly what I was expecting. I was looking for something that would give me in-depth details of the Germanic and Northern European pre-Christian religion. I wanted details of the Gods and Goddesses, their relation to each other, who they were, what they did, where they lived. And info on the stories involving them, and on the Norse/Germanic cosmology in general (the World Tree, the nine realms, the end of days etc).. And then details about the nuts and bolts of the faith itself.

I know nothing about Heathenry, so in regards to that, I was looking actually for more details and found this to be too general. For example, there are terms in there that I don’t know the meaning of and had to Google. Might be helpful (in a new addition?) to have a glossary at the back for any terms that are not plain English. Liked the Appendix at the back with the altar suggestions relating to each of the Gods and Goddesses, however, not knowing who most of them are or what they stand for, it felt incomplete to me. In regards to it being a book about devotional and faithful practice in general (covering meditation, prayer, devotional practices, alter work, service etc) I found it to be too basic. So in a way it’s still missing information. I think the authors needed to refine their purpose a little more: is it a book about religious practice, or is it about the Northern Tradition? If both, then I think they needed to have more pages and start at the very beginning, giving the reader all the details on the religion itself before going into ways to practice it.

View all my reviews

Having said all that, I do intend to read more of her books. I think this is the one I was looking for: ‘Exploring The Northern Tradition: A Guide To The Gods, Lore, Rites And Celebrations From The Norse, German And Anglo-saxon Traditions’.

