Welcome to my first ever blog. Here I will write about my spiritual adventures as they happen to me. The purpose of this is to have a forum to organize my thoughts, talk about things openly and ask for information from you – the world. I’m a writer too – who has not written in a long time – so my voice may be scratchy.

In a way I am ‘in the closet’ I suppose. I am for the most part, surrounded by agnostics and atheists; secular friends and family. My mom was raised Catholic, as was my dad, but that being the 50’s, every family went to church on Sundays more because that’s just what everyone did, than out of any kind of devotional faith. My dad has memories of Christmas midnight mass – and that’s about as far as it goes. My parents later were hippies of course, and didn’t practice any kind of religion – aside from Christmas and Easter (and the origins of those strange secular/religious holidays will definitely be in one of my posts later). My mom always told us that we would have to figure our own path out as we got older.

My husband, however, is of Native American blood and has his own people’s teachings to guide him – and they do – but he doesn’t talk about it much, being a quiet sort of guy. I may talk more about him later too.

So – if I told you the stuff I believe in; how the universe works, the nature of life and various paths to divinity – the multiverse-ness of our true multidimensional selves, the existence of other-worldly beings, my husband calls them ‘the supernatural beings’, ghosts, spirits, Jinn, angels, aliens, chimera, and true Gods and Goddesses of all of the pantheons all over the world.. you’d think I was crazy!

Well, maybe YOU wouldn’t, but my friends would.

So – why do I believe all of this stuff? It’s not that I have any proof of these things, or that I believe that they are real from a personal perspective. It’s more that I believe in the possibility of their existence. I believe in the endless possibilities of diversity of life in this universe. And, I believe that, with all of our science and technologies, we are still just a speck of dust in the vastness of the cosmos. We know nothing.

And I’m not some kind of psychic, nor do I have any kind of special gifts, like precognitive dreams or any kind of PSI abilities, nor am I channeling anyone or remote viewing into the Akashic realm, though I’d love to do that one day. Nope – I just have this feeling about things. That’s all. And I always, always have. And that feeling has led me to a ton of reading and research – like, a ton – over the years.

Plus – how cool are those myths and legends and fairy-tales that we all grew up with? How cool is JRR Tolkien and Narnia, and stories about alternate dimensions (remember A Wrinkle in Time?), Carlos Castaneda‘s Don Juan slipping through some portal and disappearing, shape-shifters, walk-ins and ghosts, supernatural beings like the dragons.. I mean c’mon! your telling me dragons never existed is some form? Even though there are stories about them in every single corner of the globe?

See – we just don’t know – and I believe a lot of our history in this planet is unknown because I think we’ve been here a lot longer than current mainstream science says. Like millions of years longer. But – that is another post. I digress.

So – I’ve read a lot but over the years, but have done very little practice of anything. I’ve prayed, I’ve meditated, I do a lot of yoga. I have a vague and personal understanding of a power greater than myself in the universe, that is filled with all manner of human emotions, like love and compassion, yes. But – apart from a few isolated experiences, my belief is based only on that feeling I have, and a sort of logic, due to all of my research (if ALL of these millions of people think there is God, well then, there must be something to it etc). I have no experience with any kind of direct revelation. And this, my friends in truly what I seek.

So, with this being 2012 and yes I do find things feel differently this year, I’ve decided to walk my talk, so to speak, and get onto my path.

Pathway

There’s more to the background story, and maybe it will all come out eventually – but I really want to focus on the path forward, and I really want to tell you about what happens to me as I go. It’ll be a like play-by-play for you all – and who knows how deep down the rabbit hole I will go?

Comments and questions and opinions welcome. I’d love to hear from you more experienced folk if you have any input for me on my journeys.

Love and Light ~ Skye on her Isle

A path is only a path, and there is no affront, to oneself or to others, in dropping it if that is what your heart tells you . . . Look at every path closely and deliberately. Try it as many times as you think necessary. Then ask yourself alone, one question . . . Does this path have a heart? If it does, the path is good; if it doesn’t it is of no use.
― Carlos Castaneda

feature image by Andy Beecroft
